You are here

Summit and Awards

Regional Leadership Recognition Awards

KSS Leadership and Innovation Awards 2016/2017

A fantastic day was had by all at the Kent, Surrey and Sussex Leadership and Innovation Awards on 1 March 2017. The full day event was held at the AMEX Stadium, Brighton and was a chance to celebrate success in health and social care.

Stephen Hart, Director of Leadership Development for Health Education England, gave an inspiring speech about health and social care leadership. Myron Rogers ran an inspiring session and encouraged new conversations in the room about Communities of Practice.

Take a look at our programme for full details of the day and information about our award winners and finalists.

Read a Storify about the day here.


Were you inspired to set up a Community of Practice after attending the Awards? If so, we would be interested to hear all about it. Please email us at to tell us more. 



The afternoon brought an inspiring Awards ceremony, recognising and celebrating the fantastic leadership and innovation across the region.

Leading and Developing People


    Dr Claire Fuller, Clinical Chair

    Lorna Hart, Deputy Director of Urgent Care and Integration

    NHS Surrey Downs CCG



Inspirational Leader


         Sue Turner

         Interim Associate Director for Operations - Carehome Plus & Learning Disabilities

         Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust     


Emerging Leader


          Dr Emma Costello

          Clinical Lead Dementia

          NHS High Weald, Lewes and Havens CCG



Inclusive Leader


           Georgina Foulds

           Associate Director for Crisis Care

           Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust 



Excellence in Patient Experience


          The Peer Support Worker Team

          Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust




Team Outstanding Achievement - Business Professionals


           East Sussex Better Together

           Healthy Hastings and Rother Team

           NHS Hastings and Rother CCG



Team Outstanding Achievement - Clinical Professionals


            Adult Social Care Occupational Therapy Team

            East Sussex County Council




Leading Systems Transformation


            Andy Erskine

            Director of Mental Health and Social Care

            Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust



Leading for Service Improvement and Innovation


            Care of the Elderly Department Leadership Team

            Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust

2015 Winners

Our 2015 Winners Were As Follows:

NHS Outstanding Collaborative Leader of the Year between Health and Local Government

Professor Gillian Bendelow

Visiting Senior Research Fellow, Professor in Socilogy of Health and Medicine

Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust, University of Brighton


NHS Innovator of the Year

Mili Doshi

Consultant in Special Care Dentistry

Surrey and Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust


NHS Emerging Leader of the Year

Dr Anna Preston

Consultant Clinical Psychologist, Lead Psychologist for Acute Care Services and Staff Governor for Therapies

Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust


NHS Leader of Inclusivity of the Year

Simon Anjoyeb and Barbara Harris

Equality Project Manager/Head of Equality, Diversity and Human Rights

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust


NHS Mentor/Coach of the Year

Tracy Williams

Immediate Care Support Nurse

Kent Community Health NHS Foundation Trust


NHS Inspirational Leader of the Year

Elizabeth Stevenson

Case Manager

Sussex Community NHS Trust


NHS Development Champion of the Year

Nial Quiney

Consultant Anaesthetist

Royal Surrey County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust


NHS Patient Champion of the Year

Vicky Kershaw

Community Physiotherapist

Central Surrey Health


NHS Board/Govering Body of the Year

Medway Community Healthcare CIC

Board of Directors